Join #PopeFrancis on Friday, March 27 for a special Urbi et Orbi blessing live from St. Peter’s Square

Join #PopeFrancis on Friday, March 27 for a special Urbi et Orbi blessing live from St. Peter’s Square. The prayer and blessing will be broadcast on the Vatican News website (https://www.vaticannews.va/en.html) at 6pm Rome time, 1pm EDT, 11am MDT, and 10am PDT. The Holy Father will grant to all participants who participate in the livestream a Plenary Indulgence before imparting the Urbi et Orbi Blessing.

The Church is a good and merciful Mother.  Pope Francis has given to the faithful a Plenary Indulgence, under the conditions below. Deo gratias! Fr. Matt

http://press.vatican.va/content/salastampa/en/bollettino/pubblico/2020/03/20/200320c.html

The Plenary Indulgence is granted to the faithful suffering from Coronavirus, who are subject to quarantine by order of the health authority in hospitals or in their own homes if, with a spirit detached from any sin, they unite spiritually through the media to the celebration of Holy Mass, the recitation of the Holy Rosary, to the pious practice of the Way of the Cross or other forms of devotion, or if at least they will recite the Creed, the Lord’s Prayer and a pious invocation to the Blessed Virgin Mary, offering this trial in a spirit of faith in God and charity towards their brothers and sisters, with the will to fulfil the usual conditions (sacramental confession, Eucharistic communion and prayer according to the Holy Father’s intentions), as soon as possible.

Health care workers, family members and all those who, following the example of the Good Samaritan, exposing themselves to the risk of contagion, care for the sick of Coronavirus according to the words of the divine Redeemer: “Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends” (Jn 15: 13), will obtain the same gift of the Plenary Indulgence under the same conditions.

This Apostolic Penitentiary also willingly grants a Plenary Indulgence under the same conditions on the occasion of the current world epidemic, also to those faithful who offer a visit to the Blessed Sacrament, or Eucharistic adoration, or reading the Holy Scriptures for at least half an hour, or the recitation of the Holy Rosary, or the pious exercise of the Way of the Cross, or the recitation of the Chaplet of Divine Mercy, to implore from Almighty God the end of the epidemic, relief for those who are afflicted and eternal salvation for those whom the Lord has called to Himself.

2020-03-26T13:12:24-04:00